My Tech Journey: Overcoming the Challenges

My Tech Journey: Overcoming the Challenges

As with most technical and non-technical fields, there is no straightforward path to being adept. My journey in tech hasn't been the easiest, especially as a newbie. It can get overwhelming because as you try to grasp concepts or experiment to figure your stack, there are new emerging tools and libraries every other week😥.

overwhelmed.webp

Nonetheless, no matter how challenges may present itself, it makes you better at what you do. Here are some stumbling blocks I have faced in my experience with technologies and how I am overcoming them;

1. Finding resources

Before I started learning how to build solutions for the web, I didn’t know how to start or what to use. I found good coding boot camps I wanted to be a part of, but they were expensive. Additionally, the process of getting a solid internship can be tedious and turn out to be unfruitful. I came across a helpful resource by Andrei Neagoie, but I still needed more materials to get in-depth and comprehensive knowledge.

  • The internet is your friend : I got on the internet, did my research, and I came across several sites with educational content. My personal favorites are Udemy and Coursera as they are great platforms that offer discounts and financial aid, respectively on quality resources. One important thing I made sure of was to find good instructors with strong communication skills and engaging teaching methods.

2. Consistency

I previously found it hard to dedicate time to learning. I had the habit of completing projects and not using my PC to do anything productive again for consecutive months. It made my technical growth very slow as I would forget some things I had learned, and in some cases, I would need to start learning over again.

  • Plan out goals : I've learned to outline tasks I want to perform for the day, week, or month. I find that I get satisfaction from reaching my goals, so I start small to prevent myself from getting burdened with things I can't accomplish. I eventually build on the fundamentals I learn and take on more challenging tasks.

3. Imposter Syndrome

Feeling like an imposter at what I do is something that creeps up on me occasionally. There is a great community of developers, engineers, analysts, and scientists who build and share commendable projects on social media. As much as they inspire and motivate me, I can't help but feel incompetent because it makes me compare my skills with these professionals.

  • Ask questions : Although I still struggle with imposter syndrome, I've learned to focus on my journey and keep going. Doing this has made me stop downplaying my skills, and the effort I put to remain consistent in my growth leaves me satisfied.

"Every master was once a beginner. Every pro was once an amateur." -Robin Sharma

4. Hitting a programming wall

Encountering a block can be quite frustrating when programming. I've abandoned projects because I could not solve the issue at hand. I would usually go through my learning materials (video tutorials and articles) but still stuck with the problem. Eventually, I leave the project alone and pick up another task. A bad habit, I know.

  • Ask questions : Google and Stack Overflow are your friends too. There is so much information out there. Some of them are unnecessary and irrelevant, while some are helpful and detailed. I figured how to filter and search my way out of a problem to find solutions. In situations I can't figure out the problem, I ask for help from my colleagues in the field. And I find that many people are ready to help. SheCode Africa is an example of a community of women in different tech fields and levels, always there to make contributions and help out!

Conclusion

I have grown an interest in development using HTML, CSS, and Javascript. It exercises my creative, logical abilities and it fuels my determination to keep going and keep learning. Nothing good comes easy, and a winner never quits.